New Jersey law permits any person who is at least 18 years of age to become an adoptive parent, provided that they are at least 10 years older than the individual they seek to adopt and meet certain other requirements to establish that they are fit and suitable parents for a child. A child may be adopted via private placement or through the assistance of an adoption agency. The adoption process can differ significantly depending on whether the child is being adopted from within or without the State of New Jersey, or from a foreign country.
The attorneys at Eveland & Foster, LLC can help guide you through the nuances of the adoption process in New Jersey. Contact a New Jersey adoption lawyer for further information if you are seeking to grow your family through adoption.